Dean Ruth Weisberg receives 2009 Women's Caucus for Art Lifetime Achievement Award


Ruth Weisberg, Dean of the USC Roski School of Fine Arts, is one of five artists to be awarded a 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award by The Women's Caucus for Art (WCA). WCA will honor Dean Weisberg, as well as fellow recipients Maren Hassinger, Ester Hernandez, Joyce Kozloff, and Margo Machida, during their annual conference, held in conjunction with the College Art Association conference in February 2009. The awards ceremony and dinner honoring the recipients will take place at the Wilshire Grand Hotel in Los Angeles on Saturday, February 28, 2009. The LAA dinner is at 6:30 p.m. and the ceremony will last from 7:30 to 9:00 p.m. Both ceremony and dinner are open to the public.

The WCA Lifetime Achievement Awards were first presented in 1979 in President Jimmy Carter's Oval Office to Isabel Bishop, Selma Burke, Alice Neel, Louise Nevelson, and Georgia O'Keeffe. Past honorees have represented a full range of distinguished achievement in the visual arts from artists to art historians to museum professionals. This year's awardees are no exception; they represent a wide range of involvement and activism in the arts.

The Women's Caucus for Art is a national non-profit organization committed to expanding opportunities and recognition for women in the arts. For more information about WCA or the Lifetime Achievement Awards, please visit